Sunday, January 18, 2009

Mt. Laundry

Several months ago when we were in the planning stages of this vacation we're about to embark upon, I never thought about packing for seven people for seven days! What an ordeal! I have been doing laundry for three days in order to get every thing clean to see what we were going to take and what we're not. Can you believe the kids have the audacity to wear the clothes I just washed. Can't they go naked for a few days? I am exhausted! If I have to wash one more load of laundry before January 27th, I think I'll commit harry carry, honestly!

At any rate, we're packed and just about ready to go. I packed all seven of us in 4 suitcases. Tomorrow I'll pack the fun bag for the kids to take on the plane, and then on Tuesday morning I'll pack the bathroom bag, and off we go! I think we are planning on leaving around 6:30 or 7:00 a.m. our flight leaves at 9:15 I think. Hopefully the weather will co-operate.

Please pray for us. Dave and I want so much for the kids to enjoy this vacation, we are really hoping we don't get sick. You know me the "germ-a-phobe" who knows what we can pick up at an airport... :)

This will be my last post until we get to Florida. I hope you all stay warm...we will be!




Wednesday, January 7, 2009

It was a Ben day

Ben was at optimal speed today. While I was helping Hannah and Aaron with their school, this after noon, the house grew incredibly quiet. Ben had very quietly, crept out of sight into my room. I am hoping the thoughts in his head were to help mommy, but for some reason I think he was really just out to enjoy himself at the expense of my sanity! He knocked every thing off my dresser,onto the floor, and proceeded to cover the entire dresser and bed with a large size box of baby powder!

After Dillon helped me clean up the mess, I decided it was time to stop school for the day and head out for some physical education. This boy needed to run! So we went to the Rec Center. You should have seen the them run, oh my gosh, you would have thought I kept these kids in cages all day! They ran like I have never seen them run before. They must have made ten laps, some walking but mostly running.

BTW, I did walk again today, I think I did 20 laps again, I know I ran 4 1/2 laps, not consecutively, but hey I did it! Then I went down to the basketball courts and shots hoops with the kids. The good news is we were all covered with baby powder so we didn't stink!!! :)




Monday, January 5, 2009

New Year Resolutions

OK It's New Year's Eve and mid-night is getting closer and closer, everyone around you is bragging about what they are resolving to do or not to do this new year. Did you fall victim? Did you make any New Year Resolutions? Not me, being the "stickler to the rules" kinda person that I am, I refused to make any! I set the bar too high for my self then I don't do whatever I "resolved" to do. Next thing I know, I'm beatin' myself up over not following through...it's a vicious cycle!

So I went about things a little differently this year. I waited until January 4th to decide what I was going to "try" to accomplish. See this way I am tricking myself into thinking its a trial basis; that way I don't set the bar too high. LOL

So the "bigs" and I went to the Rec Center today and started walking. Danielle counted 20 laps we made! I personally ran, yes I said RAN, 2 laps of those 20. Those two laps I ran weren't consecutive, but they were full laps running, none the less!! For those of you who know me (well enough) you know the "e" word is a no-no in our house. I would like to "try" do this on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays but I'm not committing to that until I see how much pain I'm in in the morning. :)

You can feel free to leave any comments you wish. I'd love to hear from you...whats your "new year resolution"?

BTW I have a Facebook account now and so you can post on that as well if you like. Dave has one too! Hope to see ya'll there...